Mission Statement:

We exist so children can excel.


Core Values:

As a school community we value and will not compromise …

  •     Honesty, integrity, and respect for others,
  •     Safety and security for all students, staff, and patrons,
  •     Academic achievement for students of various abilities, backgrounds, and interests,
  •     Collaboration and communication across all stakeholders.


Core Beliefs:

So children can excel . . .

  •     We believe and are committed to putting students and their learning first, no matter what challenges we face,
  •     We believe and are committed to providing a quality education for all children regardless of their abilities,
  •     We believe and are committed to the tenet that every employee of the FCCSC contributes to the success of our students,
  •     We believe and are committed to working with families and the community as partners in education,
  •     We believe and are committed to offering a variety of extra-curricular and co-curricular opportunities for our students,
  •     We believe and are committed to operating the school corporation in a fiscally responsible manner,
  •     We believe and are committed to recruiting, hiring, and retaining, highly qualified educators and support staff,
  •     We believe and are committed to keeping pace with the technology that students will need in the future.


Vision Statement:

Our school community is committed to helping all students excel in school and in life. Student learning will be enhanced by highly qualified and compassionate teachers, engaging and evolving curriculum, and up-to-date, accessible technology. Graduates of the Franklin County Community School Corporation will possess the basic knowledge and skills that will assure their proficiency in problem solving and technology. They will be responsible citizens and lifelong learners, prepared for a variety of post graduation options.


About Franklin County Community Schools:

The Franklin County Community School Corporation is located in southeastern Indiana. The school corporation encompasses 300 square miles of Franklin County. When school is in session, 64 school buses travel approximately 2700 miles each day to transport students to and from school.

Five school buildings serve approximately 2400 students in grades PreK-12. These schools and year of construction are Brookville Elementary (original building 1960, additions made in 1971 and 2002; Franklin County Middle School (originally Brookville Middle School 2002); Franklin County High School (1989); Laurel School (1975); and Mt. Carmel School (original 1975, addition made in 2008). Brookville Elementary School, Franklin County Middle School, and Franklin County High School are all located on a scenic campus in Brookville, accessible from Wildcat Lane. Laurel School is a PreK-6 facility located just outside the historic town of Laurel on State Road 121. Mt. Carmel School serves students in grades K-6 and is located on the eastern most side of the county.

In 2005 the old Brookville High School was transferred to the county, renovated, and is now home to the Franklin County Government Center. The basement of the old gymnasium was renovated in 2008 and became the Administrative Offices for the Franklin County Community School Corporation. During the summers of 2010 and 2011 renovations were made to the old Brookville High School Gymnasium. This renovated facility is once again the “home court” for many Franklin County High School athletics.

The school corporation is governed by a seven-member non-partisan school board. Members are elected in November’s General Election and take office in January. Members are elected for four year terms. The Board employs a Superintendent of Schools as its chief executive officer and educational leader.

Franklin County Community Schools is one of the largest employers in the county. Approximately 170 certified and 170 non-certified persons are employed by the Franklin County Community School Corporation. The vast majority of these school employees have chosen Franklin County as their home.