kindergarten_600Kindergarten Registration

April 1, 2015 – 10am to 6pm
April 2, 2015 –  9am to 3pm

Kindergarten registration for the 2015-16 school year will take place April 1st from 10am to 6pm and again on April 2nd from 9am to 3pm.  If your child will be 5 years old by August 1, 2015, he/she is eligible to attend kindergarten next year.

To register your child, stop by any of the Franklin County elementary schools between the hours noted above.  Parents shall bring an official birth certificate (a certificate provided by the hospital is not sufficient), social security number, and completed immunization record to registration.  Guardians are also asked to provide proper guardianship papers if the child is not living with the natural or adopted parents.

Fall Student Registration

Mark your calendars. Fall semester registration dates have been set.

July 27th 8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
July 28th 8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
July 29th 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
July 27th 4:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
July 28th 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
July 29th 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
July 30th 12 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
July 31st 8:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Freshmen orientation will be held July 28th @ 9 a.m.

EOM2Educator of the Month March 2015

jon_johnsonMarch 2015 – Mr. Jon Johnson, Band Director at Franklin County High School and Brookville Middle School, has been selected for Franklin County’s “Educator of the Month” recognition.  The purpose of the program is to recognize outstanding Franklin County educators who demonstrate excellence in the classroom, leadership in the school, dedication to the students, and involvement in the community.  According to Franklin County Superintendent, Dr. Debbie Howell, Mr.Johnson exemplifies all of these qualities.   Read more…

The nomination form for FCCSC Educator of the Month can be completed and submitted online by clicking here.  You can also download a PDF version of the nomination form for printing.  For full details about the Educator of the Month program, click here.

New Principal @ LES Next Year

February 10, 2015 – The Franklin County Community School Corporation and The Board of School Trustees appointed Mrs. Lisa Baudendistel as the new principal at Laurel School beginning July 2015.  Mrs. Baudendistel has worked in the Sunman-Dearborn Community School Corporation since August of 2002.  During this time, she served as the Assistant Director of Special Education for 6 years, the assistant principal at Sunman-Dearborn Middle School for 3 years and is completing her 4th year as principal at Sunman-Dearborn Middle School.  Mrs. Baudendistel began her career at Laurel School in 1990 as a teacher for students with mild disabilities.  She held this position until August of 2000.  Read more…

Congratulations Brookville Middle School ChoirDSCN1630

February 1, 2015 – On Saturday January 31st, 26 Brookville Middle School Jr. High Choir students traveled to North Decatur High School for the ISSMA (Indiana State School Music Association) District contest.  They were entered in 19 events, which included 3 ensembles and 16 solos, under the direction of Mrs. Pat Smith and Ms. Kati Holman.  They returned home with 46 gold and 9 silver medals, with one student earning her way to the State ISSMA on February 21st in Indianapolis.

besCongratulations Brookville Elementary!

Congratulations to Brookville Elementary for earning an “Exemplary/A” rating from the Indiana Department of Education for the fifth consecutive year!

Read more: Franklin County Schools Continue to Demonstrate Academic Progress

Changes in Indiana Academic Standards

In the spring of 2015 (March and April), the current ISTEP Assessment will continue to be called ISTEP, however, the Assessment will measure the New Indiana College and Career Academic Standards (IASCCR) adopted by the State Board of Education in July of 2014.  The Franklin County School Corporation, principals, teachers and support staff are diligently preparing our students to achieve at the highest levels possible with deeper reading, writing and mathematical understanding.  (Click to read more)

Non Resident Transfer Students

Resized Puzzle Edit
Franklin County Community Schools are now accepting applications for non-resident transfer students.  If you live outside of the district, but would like to attend a Franklin County School, click the image to the left and learn how.




Our Mission:

We believe it is the function of the Franklin County Community School Corporation to educate our students for a life that will be satisfying and meaningful to them as persons and will contribute to the improvement of their community, state, and nation. The educational system shall be student-centered, addressing their needs and potential so they may be more adequately prepared vocationally, socially, intellectually, and morally.

Recognizing the diversity of pupil needs and interests, the curriculum and activity programs shall be varied to meet individual desires so that student may acquire the skills necessary to make a living, find satisfactory leisure time activities, develop self-esteem, gain the respect of others, and develop the desire to contribute to our representative society. The programs shall be revised, as necessary, to assist the students to adjust to life in an ever-changing world, teaching them how to think and act in real-life situations, encouraging them to develop worthwhile attitudes and ideals, and allowing them to appreciate the acquisition of useful knowledge, habits, and skills.





Comments are closed.